ipad update….and help please

I have said in the past that one of the purposes of this blog was to record the process of digitalization at the school I teach at.  I haven’t written anything about this for a while and in the meantime have run into an unexpected problem. If there is anyone out there with a similar problem, or better still has an idea how to sort it out, I’d love to hear it.

It’s a wifi connection problem.  I am working with an iPad Air, now running on ios 7.1.1.  When I’m at home, and only at home as far as I have seen, it won’t connect to the wifi. It will occasionally load a page when I first switch it on, but then it grinds to a halt.  The signal looks strong, the blue bar starts to fill as a page starts to load, but then it stops.

Image

Meanwhile everything else still works fine with the wifi, my Dell laptop, three android mobiles and two ipod touches.  The strange thing is the wifi did work with the iPad for the first month or so that I had it.

I’ve been trawling the forums looking for solution, tried all sorts, but it would seem that I am not the only one with this issue…..which is kind of comforting, but with 200 or so pupils starting to work with iPads at my school next year I find myself wondering if I’m going to be the only one with this problem.

4 thoughts on “ipad update….and help please

  1. have you tried going into the wifi settings, selecting forget this network so you can re-connect and enter the password to set up the network. may help. best, m

    • Thanks for the suggestion Matthew, I’ve tried lots of things like this to no success. My internet provider think it might be connected to the wiring through the house in combination with the router so I’m looking into that now. Although when you start looking at a few forum sites for help it would seem that there are plenty of other people with similar problems so maybe I have a dodgy iPad.

      • I think your Ipad is the problem. You had a similar problem at the first workshop. Why don’t you borrow mine next week to see if it has the same problem at your place?

Leave a Reply

